Parrot Paradise Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Hello from a wintery South Africa...

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
Jodi'nJet
Budgerigar

My Birds : Jodi, an Orange Winged Amazon

Hello from a wintery South Africa... Empty
PostSubject: Hello from a wintery South Africa...   Hello from a wintery South Africa... EmptyThu May 26, 2011 7:59 pm

Hi there,

Thanks captwest and oatdbunny for the invite to this forum...it all looks great!

For those who don't know me, i'm Tandi, 26 years old and i work as an Air Traffic Controller at O R Tambo International airport in Johannesburg, South Africa! Love my job!

My flock was growing at a rate of knots...but has stopped for now! I'm a proud mama to 2 house birds...Jodi, a male Orange Winged Amazon who is now 11 months old, and Jet, a female Timneh African Grey who is now 7 months old! Love these to babies to bits!!! Jodi is already talking, he says "hello" very clearly now and has also said "what you doing", but only once or twice! He is a really good imitator and will copy us if we whistle or he makes kissing noises when we kiss him and he makes bubble sounds when you pour cooldrink or anything like that! Jet hasn't spoken yet, but i am sure that it is coming really soon! She whistles and also copies us when we do it with her! She is the cutest thing and very determined...if i don't pay her enough attention, she will climb down her cage, get onto the floor and walk to me, wherever i may be! We have to watch where we put our feet due to this...lol...as we wouldn't want to squash her! She does this particularily in the mornings when i am in the kitchen preparing their food!

Having the job i do is great, i work shifts and am therefore able to spend very much time with the birds! And i love it! I find them so entertaining, and i love to watch them play and learn and explore new things!