Parrot Paradise Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

newbie saying hi

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
bearhugnjp
Budgerigar

newbie saying hi Empty
PostSubject: newbie saying hi   newbie saying hi EmptyWed Oct 10, 2012 2:01 am

I'm a newbie to this group. I have a Double Yellow headed Amazon parrot, who is around 20 years old now.

But I need help with my newest bird.

My daughter gave me a White bellied Cyique and we got along beautifully for 3 weeks. Now he has been biting me for the last 3 days.

I need help...he is possibly hormonal now. This isn't his typical personality.
Back to top Go down
ScooterNScotty
Hyacinth Macaw
ScooterNScotty

My Birds : Scooter
* "Normal" male Green-cheeked Conure
* (hatched 3/2010)

Scotty
*male Cape Parrot
*(HD unk ~2008)

Blanco (Caballo Blanco)
*Whitefaced male cockatiel
*(HD unk, found 4/2012)

newbie saying hi Empty
PostSubject: Re: newbie saying hi   newbie saying hi EmptyWed Oct 10, 2012 2:42 am

Welcome to the forum! I don't have specific experience with caiques, but I wonder if he's just getting over being overwhelmed.

I'm a big fan of avoiding the bite rather than confronting it. Fwiw.
Back to top Go down
crystalsbirdtoys
Senegal
crystalsbirdtoys

My Birds : African Grey - Merlin
Caique - Rosco
Cockatiel - Stryder

newbie saying hi Empty
PostSubject: Re: newbie saying hi   newbie saying hi EmptyWed Oct 10, 2012 9:25 am

Welcome to the forum!

Regarding your Caique, did something happen to scare him? Did you move something around? An alternative could be hormones.

Our was sweet as pie until I had a "trusted" friend sit for the birds for a long weekend, and I came back & he was in full bomb dive mode...he's still very Jekyll/Hyde 5 years later despite working with him daily - he has major trust issues because of a few idiots.